About Me

My photo
Charlotte, NC, United States
My brain never stops and whatever I think tends to come out of my mouth. This daily blog helps me to channel those things maybe better left unsaid to a forum that you can read by choice and I can call them how I see them. Join me each day as I debate the political, social, personal and the ridiculous . . . mostly with myself. Life is full of crazy shit, I just happen to be one of those people that both notice and comment.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Day 53: Is it Exploitation if it's True? There's a Lesson in Tucson.

"If a Detroit Muslim put a map on the web w/crosshairs on 20 pols, then 1 of them got shot, where would he b sitting right now? Just asking." These words were the tweet of Michael Moore upon hearing about the shooting of Congressional representative Gabrielle Giffords and the others in Tucson. Many, many others have also taken this opportunity to point to the increased vitriol in the political debate on the right. Over the course of the last few days many Facebook friends and media pundits, all of whom are on the right, have stated that it is in poor taste to exploit the tragedy in Tucson to promote a political agenda. The agenda in this case being to bash the Tea Party and ultra-conservatives like Sarah Palin.


I cannot argue the exploitation factor. It would be no better than those horrifically evil Westboro church people exploiting grief to further their own cause, if in fact the ultra right are being unfairly blamed for increased violence in the name of politics and religion. I'm just not sure that is actually what is happening here. How many politicians and pundits on the left have called for the deaths (figuratively or literally) of their opponents? These violent metaphors and graphic images employed by the right are not to blame for the actions of a stranger, but they can and quite possibly have, incited violent acts. Just as rock or rap lyrics do not cause a person to lose grip with reality and commit violence, it may offer a impetus for an already disturbed individual or add fuel to a collective fire. 


Personally, I know I've said things to the effect that I'd like to see someone take out the knee of Tom Brady, or how I wouldn't be sad if the backstabbing bitch that was my friend should accidentally hit the bumper of my car when I'm driving 80 mph. The main difference aside from the fact that I am obviously just venting, is that I am not a public figure, there are not hundreds of thousands of people reading my words and taking them to heart. I am not a inspirational figure seeking to hold public office, be a mentor, or to lead. (Though I absolutely should be all of those things.)


Yes, I'm a lefty and no, I'm not religious. Even so, I really do believe that should a member of my political party say and do things with such violent overtones I would have to speak out against it. I'm not blind to the fact that people are people and not party "agendas." Just because someone is on the right does not mean I am going to dislike or even disagree with him or her and the opposite is true as well. The fact here, is that over the last couple of years the political debate has turned to increasingly violent imagery. Crosshairs, target, sights, rise up, revolution and who knows how many other words and terms are leaking into the rhetoric at an alarming rate. It is almost normal now to talk of "killing" the opposition and their proposed legislation. Crosshairs, really? We think that's okay? Mama grizzly better watch out because I'm pretty sure that "sight" has been turned back on her and her rumored 2012 Presidential campaign. 


Hopefully, if nothing else, the one good thing that will come from this will be a downgrading of the rhetoric and vitriolic debate surrounding the political process and its candidates. There is no respect anymore for leadership. The American people used to be able to disagree with both each other and with the leadership without it becoming instantly hateful or violent. We used to respect the Presidency above all and then it just became a mockery -- though one might argue that Clinton's White House antics and Bush's . . . well, ineffectual leadership, moronic comments, and general buffoonery are most directly to blame for the current lack of respect for that office. What happened to gracefully disagreeing? Does every debate have to turn into a UFC cage fight? Are there no rules, no common respect and decency? 


I don't want to use the death of a 9 year-old little girl or critical injury of a congresswoman to further my own political beliefs, but I also do not want to ignore this opportunity. Whatever side you are on, please understand that this is not a call to arms for the Left against the Right. It is a warning to both sides to stand down and to remember we are debating policy. Everyone gets a vote, everyone gets the right to live. Killing abortion doctors will not stop abortion. Killing politicians will not keep gun laws so lax. Killing anyone will not further a political agenda, but it just might kill the process itself and after two hundred plus years of fighting for democracy, that would be a shame.

5 comments:

  1. I couldn't really read all of ur post this time... I am so tired of the right being blamed for all the bad in the world. Look up ur president and hear some pretty aweful partison dividing statements. Somehow when the left spews ignorance it is ignored. The bullet thing that everyone is blaming Palin for now is a common thing on political maps. Targeting different districts. If u really think she and all of the otheres who target different districts really mean to shoot them... OMG we are really in trouble.

    The guy that did this was pathetic. Remember when the bombing in NYC happened and we were told by the president and the media--- don't make assumptions about Muslims because of this man--- Now somehow this crazy man who has no links at all to the right is being potrayed as someone who got his ideas from them. It makes me throw up in my mouth. Really!! Step back, pretend for one minute that u want to see the right as people who care. Not haters like u portray.

    Ame- this dude was insane and if u don't see that u are drinkin too much koolaid. He didn't have a sane piece in his body. He was living a dream.... To even put poitics in this is insane in itself. He could have been right or left but he was insane.

    As to gun control.. The ones that are not supposed to have them do. If they are legal or not. So I would rather allow my husband to bear arms to protect me form these lunatics. Now at least the right minded and law abiding can defend themseelves!

    This crazy dude was just that with or without the rhetoric that happens in politics. I agree that it is about time that we as a nation see each other as allies and not ememies. The right isn't evil and neither is the left. Compromise is what we have been all about until the past 2 yrs when one of the parties hijacked the American paople and took them for a ride. Americans don't like that and if they saw that those in power really cared what they thought things would be much different. The forfathers never meant for the USA to be a one party nation. That is why it is a democrcacy.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I could pull out comment after comment to refute some of what you've written, but I don't need to. You made my point for me in your third sentence. "Look up your President . . ." This is my point. He is OUR president, just as Bush was our President. We aren't going to like everyone or agree with everyone, but we NEED to respect them as elected officials. I did not elect Obama any more than you elected Bush Jr. WE the American people elected them all.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I referred as ur pesdident because I disagree with most of what he has done in the last 2 yrs. I don't however attack him or say nasty things about him. I do respect that he is our president but I think he is doing nothing for the average American. Can u see any of the rehetoric spewing form his mouth? All I mean is that the rhetoric comes from both sides and to say it is from the right is just-- wrong. The media loves to attack the right whenever they can. I get that. Do u remember when Bush was president? Every night on the nightly news-- it was about how aweful of a job and how the economy was so bac...etc. Now everything is worse and no blame to Obama-- Still blame to Bush. It's laughable really. So when Obama doesn't get another term it will be Bush's fault too.

    And just for the reacord, I don't think u ever really considered Bush ur president. Go back and recall what u wrote and thought about him.

    And for the record, Obama is my president, I was writing that to state a point. However misunderstood it was. Sarcasm doesn't do well over the internet.

    I will however, agree to disagree on this cause we could go on and on and on.... I'd have to go get my boxing gloves on though:) LOL

    ReplyDelete
  4. President Obama was elected by a clear majority of the American people, as were all other leaders of our federal and state governments.. He didn't hijack anything.

    If the bullet "thing" is so common and defendable, why did Ms. Palin remove it from her website? Where is it now?

    Sarah Palin and the other 'leaders' like her have used their platforms to create an atmosphere of war. They are most certainly not responsible for the actions of a lunatic. But they, and the news media that give their soundbites and slogans so much play, ARE responsible for inciting emotions and creating division. They have spread misinformation DESIGNED to create confusion and fear.

    The only thing suprising here is the feigned 'shock' that someone took them seriously. I know I don't, but really? No one saw this coming?

    ReplyDelete
  5. The hijacking statement was referring to the one sided congress, senate for the past 2 yrs. The people voted against that one-sided government in November. I believe we have a democracy. When one side is calling all the shots it will always cause anger from the other side. I don't think the right should control everything either. http://www.brusselsjournal.com/node/4640

    I don't really want to get into a big argument over this but just read this article and just try to think of Sarah Palin as a loving mom who has a passion for her country. Do you really think that she caused this? I try not to make judgements about left wingers just because of what they believe politically. She obviously stands against the democratic platform but that doesn't make her a terrorist or even a bad person. I agree the bullet points may not be the most appropriate signs but the democratic party platform made bullet targets on their states they wanted to target in 2004 also. It seems in our society (media coverage) that anyone on the right is a racist bigot and it is getting really annoying. That in itself causes a lot of anger and frustration.

    It's about time we Americans come together and stop calling each other names and blaming each other for the bad in the world. This guy was crazy. Neither the right or the left caused that. That is all I'm saying.

    ReplyDelete