Someone called me middle-aged the other day. Someone who I may or may not be praying gets hit by a bus said that not only am I middle-aged, but that that 27 is actually the start of that particular age milestone. So we had a bit of a debate and while it was decided that at 37 I am not technically that far off from true middle age when one considers the average life expectancy of a woman, it was also decided (by me) that this guy was a huge jerk store.
Besides the fact that I refuse to believe I look my age (not that 37 is old), there's the fact that the term "middle-aged" is just offensive. What should be a mathematical notion has taken on this horrifically negative connotation. "Middle-aged" sounds like some sort of horror story. Why have we corrupted it like that. I have friends much older than me and family members that are past the traditional middle-age range and they are vibrant, energetic people. My Father is almost 70 and therefore past that particular age milestone and yet he does not seem at all middle-aged. Pops is funny and interesting, while middle-aged sounds awful. Being young or old sounds a whole lot better.
Here I am, however, nearly middle-aged. I mean, I actually think of that being around 45, but still, I guess technically I could be close to it, right? Hell, I could get hit by a bus myself next week and then middle-aged for me would have been 19. I have somehow wrapped myself up in feeling younger, I think I look younger, my career is practically non-existent, my personal life is similar to the melodrama of a college student and my bank account is in the toilet. For all intents and purposes, I'm currently living my life more similar to a young person than a middle-aged one.
Is it getting older that makes us feel old or our actual physical struggles? I don't feel old and so I like going out, being social, having a good time until 3am, but my body wants to be in my pj pants with a glass of wine and the sofa. My body is betraying my mind. So if I keep ignoring it am I legitimately going to become that old chick at the bar? Am I one day going to wake up with a hangover at 53 to discover that I'm still wearing my too tight jeans and leopard print top? If I'm middle-aged now, shouldn't I be home knitting or writing my memoirs . . . oh wait, I guess I'm kind of blogging my memoirs now. Shit.
They say you're only as old as you feel. They also say it's hell getting old. I say, it's hell only feeling young when you're getting old. I don't think I'd mind being middle-aged so much if the term didn't make it sound as if I'd signed over some right to be fun and attractive and interesting. Well screw you middle, I think I'm going to linger for a while in the beginning, then slip directly into old. Being in the middle sounds way too much like being average anyway and that's one thing I've never wanted to be.
About Me
- Ame.
- Charlotte, NC, United States
- My brain never stops and whatever I think tends to come out of my mouth. This daily blog helps me to channel those things maybe better left unsaid to a forum that you can read by choice and I can call them how I see them. Join me each day as I debate the political, social, personal and the ridiculous . . . mostly with myself. Life is full of crazy shit, I just happen to be one of those people that both notice and comment.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
You are 37? I thought you were more like 27!
ReplyDelete"my career is practically non-existent, my personal life is similar to the melodrama of a college student and my bank account is in the toilet" Sounds like life in the new post-recession economy for a lot of people. What is life supposed to be? What if this is as good as it gets.